Muirin Year Data

Muirin Physical Data

Each year is 495 days long. (Each day is about 24 of Earth hours.)

Every continent has their own way of dividing those 495 days into weeks, months and years, based on their particular religion, social structure and historical idiosyncracies.

In Aingeal the year breaks down this way:

  • 1 week = 10 days.
  • 1 month = 4 weeks = 40 days
  • There are 12 months per year.

There are 3 days at each solstice and equinox that are not part of the official month / year. Those are religious holidays each dedicated to one of the Goddesses.

There are 3 months between each solstice and equinox.

The New Year hits at Midsummer on the solstice, when there are three days that belong to no god. That’s a universal holiday.

You identify the day in this way: It’s Nanday of the 2nd week of the 3rd month of the Spring Quarter, year of Coventina of the 10th cycle of Ragna.

  • Written notation would look like this:

Nanday, 2nd of 3rd 7 Coventina of 10 Ragna.

  • Spoken would be:

“Nanday, second of third, spring, Coventina of Ragna” if speaking quickly, though most would just say “Nanday” or “second of third, spring” if someone asked the date.

  • There are ten saints, who name the years. They are in order:
  1. Nantosuelta,
  2. Agrona,
  3. Sulis,
  4. Boadicea,
  5. Ula,
  6. Andraste,
  7. Coventina,
  8. Arela,
  9. Reannon,
  10. Epona.

The cycles are named after the goddess, in order:

Tahira, Chin, Ragna.

The cycles are counted in sets of 10, so you have 1 Tahira, 1, Chin, 1, Ragna, 2 Tahira, etc.

If you’re referencing a set further back than the current you’d count back by referencing the dynasty in charge at the time, or which war was going on for the dynasty at the time. Dynasties are (in reverse order from end of Saving the Dana):

    1. Dana (new)
    2. Delbhana (lasted 37 years)
    3. Vanora (lasted 143  years)
    4. Saraid (lasted 289 years)
    5. Ilisa (lasted 2 years)
    6. Malvina (lasted 5 years)
    7. Glynis (lasted 402 years)
    8. Athdara (lasted 182 years)
    9. Coira (lasted 333 years)
    10. Eara (lasted 1 year)
    11. Fiona (lasted 9 years)
    12. Aili (lasted 11 years)
    13. Beitiris (lasted 21 years)
    14. Gail (lasted 984 years)
    15. Peigi (refers to all dynasties prior to Gail, pre-unification of Aingeal)

Days of the week are also named after the saints:

      1. Nanday,
      2. Agronday,
      3. Sulisday,
      4. Boaday,
      5. Uladay,
      6. Andraday,
      7. Convenday,
      8. Areladay,
      9. Reanday,
      10. Eponday.

In Ntombi the year breaks down this way:

1 week = 9 days.

1 month = 5 weeks = 45 days

There are 11 months per year.

There are no days that are not officially part of the month/year. New Year’s hits at mid-winter, not midsummer.

Ntombi keeps the days, months and years simple:

Days are First, Second, Third, etc, throughout the month of 45 days.

Weeks are First through Fifth weeks but most people just say the day.

Years are counted according to Pre-Unification and Post-Unification. It’s been 238 years since Unification began, during which the continent was steadily united under Ntombian rule. All previous methods of counting years are ignored unless reading historical documents or part of an oppressed minority struggling to keep their culture (which happens a lot).

The date would be written as:

237-10-43 or year-month-day.

The date would be spoken as:

“10-43” with the year unspoken unless specifically asked for. If asked for, it goes first, as with the written version.

In Yewande the year breaks down this way:

    • 1 week = 5 days.
    • 1 month = 8 weeks = 40 days.
    • There is one month of 15 days that is not part of the official month/calendar. That month is a universal religious month of worship, reflection and devotion to the Ladies. It hits every New Year, which in Yewande is celebrated in spring, when the Ladies’ babies hatch.
    • Days of the week are:
      1. First
      2. Second
      3. Third
      4. Fourth
      5. Fifth
    • Months are named:
      1. Baba
      2. Fabeni
      3. Kabili
      4. Saburi
      5. Badu
      6. Madele
      7. Fadzai
      8. Saad
      9. Bahati
      10. Oba
      11. Ife
      12. Machui
      13. The Holy Month

Years are counted from Arrival on Muirin, so they’re at year 10,287 per their records and verified by the Ladies through several different Daughters of Chaos over the centuries.

The date is written as:

Fabeni, First, 10,285 or Month, Day, Year

The date would be spoken as:

“Fabeni First” or “Fabeni First, 10,285”.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.