Worldbuilding Wednesday

I don’t have much today. This should not be a surprise after the last year or so of not having much. *wry smile*

That said, I do have a couple of new stories out that I need to do the Now Available posts for. Plus two more shorts written and a new novel that should be out in about 3-4 weeks. I’m about due for a couple of collections, too. Been putting that off in favor of writing. Bad me!

Mostly I’ve been looking for good things to read with non-straight characters. It’s hard to find queer books, really hard. If you search on Amazon (or any of the other sites) you have to wade through pages of erotica, struggle with search functions that don’t actually seem to give you what you’re asking for and then give up after wading through 5-35 pages worth of Not What I Asked For results.

Seriously.

I do that little dance of frustration at least once a week.

Which is why recs are gold. Got a pile of them this morning and I’m going to be going off to bookmark / sample the books in hopes of finding new authors and new stories to read, despite my huge stack of books that are still unread.

The rec post is over on Tumbler: Find it here.

Lots of lovely suggestions and many new authors I intend to stalk quietly in the hopes of finding new favorites.

Anyway, that was about what I had for today. If you know of any great queer fiction where it’s more than 1-2 queer characters, the story doesn’t revolve around a) coming out or b) bashing, and it has a happy ending (preferably with any queer romances ending up happy), do let me know. I’m always searching for stories that meet that criteria. And frequently failing to find them.

Have a great week everyone!

About meyari

I am a writer of erotica, science fiction and fantasy. I've been writing for years but have just sold my first erotica novel and am working on self-publishing my non-erotica. I love sewing, collecting dolls, reading, and a great many crafts that I no longer have time to do. I've been happily married to my husband for 20 years.
This entry was posted in LGBT Issues, MDR Publishing, Rambling, Self Publishing, Worldbuilding Wednesday, Writing Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

