Well, that didn’t work out too well.

My 30 Short Stories in 30 Days challenge that is. It’s now December and I managed to write 9 short stories over the course of November.

The possibly surprising thing is that I’m actually pretty happy with that result.

Why?

Well, I ended up writing 10 days out of the 30 available days. On those days I averaged about 3000 words per day with a grand total of 30,603 words in November. That’s a pretty good rate and I’m quite happy with short stories I wrote. I didn’t manage as many short stories as I wanted but hey, I knew going in that there were going to be things blocking me from doing much writing this year. That’s why I didn’t do the traditional NaNoWriMo challenge.

What blocked me?

First, I had six work days and a weekend killed by a coworker being out for gall bladder surgery. Her job is VERY demanding and I had to cover everything for her while she was gone. My job went by the wayside. My writing, cooking, cleaning, all the energy I had, all of it disappeared. I firmly believe that woman needs to paid at least twice what she is because damn. Just damn.

Second, we had a major customer audit that ate an entire day for the audit itself and the aftermath of which spilled over to a second day. Once again, I got nothing else done because I was dealing with the audit.

Third, I lost eight days in November, the last eight days of the month that I expected to be free and clear writing days due to my husband being gone. Why’d I lose those days? I got sick. I’m still sick. It’s a bad cold that knocked me so flat that I was lucky to manage eating and bathing for a week solid.

So yeah, with 20 out of 30 days consumed by other things I’m not unhappy with managing 9 short stories in November.

I’m going to have to try the challenge again sometime in 2016. Maybe March or April or July or something. A quiet month, if such a thing happens. It’d be pretty cool if I did manage to write 30 stories in 30 days. Something to brag about (that no one will care about but me). Not to mention getting the stories to publish.

Anyway, I just wanted to give everyone an update on how the 30 Short Stories challenge went. My new project is writing another Matriarchies of Muirin novel, this time detailing Gwen’s courtship of Tierney Nolan, her future husband. One chapter in and I’m already itching to write thousands of words a day. I want to know what happens next! :D

Have a great week everyone–hope your November went better than mine!

About meyari

I am a writer of erotica, science fiction and fantasy. I've been writing for years but have just sold my first erotica novel and am working on self-publishing my non-erotica. I love sewing, collecting dolls, reading, and a great many crafts that I no longer have time to do. I've been happily married to my husband for 20 years.
This entry was posted in Matriarchies of Muirin, MDR Publishing, Rambling, Self Publishing, Writing Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

