Worldbuilding Wednesday: Temperature

Hey, it’s a post! It’s a miracle because yes, the busy from last week (and the previous few weeks) hasn’t disappeared.

One thing that’s finally disappearing for me, though, is the unseasonably high temperatures we’ve been having in the Puget Sound. The temperature was a good ten to fifteen degrees above normal for over a month with absolutely no rain at all. Given that the Puget Sound is a temperate rain forest, no rain is a very big deal.

But today, at last, the skies are gray and the temperature is closer to normal. Not back to what it should be as there is still no rain but it’s still better than it’s been.

So! Today’s post is all about how your character deals with the temperature.

I’m a naturally cold person. You put me in an air conditioned office and I’ll pull on a sweater and have ice cold hands in minutes. My husband is a hot person. AC is heaven for him and he only gets cold when he’s sitting still for hours and the temperature is below 65F. When he went out in the 80-85F heat, he headed straight for heat stroke in a matter of minutes while I was happy and comfortable until I’d been out for at least half an hour.

Everyone is different. Your characters should have individual reactions to the temperatures around them, too. If they’re, say in a fantasy story, trekking across country in blazing heat, which one loves it? Which hates it? Who goes silent and pale, sweating until they suddenly pass out from heat stroke?

Or if they’re dealing with snow and ice, who complains viciously about it but copes well enough. Who sticks their cold fingers on the back of people’s neck? Which one is the one who shivers and shivers and whose teeth chatter endlessly even after they’re back inside and curled up next to the fire? How long does it take that one to warm up?

When I get truly chilled I can literally stay cold for hours while wrapped in blankets, even if the place is well heated. Sometimes all that warms me up is a very hot bath. Sometimes all that saves my husband from heat exhaustion or heat stroke is a cold shower.

Being unable to cope with different temperatures can add a lot to your story so do think about how your characters cope with the weather and temperatures they’re exposed to.

Good luck with your writing and I hope that your lives are much less busy and stressful than mine!

About meyari

I am a writer of erotica, science fiction and fantasy. I've been writing for years but have just sold my first erotica novel and am working on self-publishing my non-erotica. I love sewing, collecting dolls, reading, and a great many crafts that I no longer have time to do. I've been happily married to my husband for 20 years.
This entry was posted in MDR Publishing, Rambling, Self Publishing, Worldbuilding Wednesday, Writing Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

