Worldbuilding Wednesday: I’m late!

And I even have a good excuse for it. My husband and I have been working on fixing the fence around our house. We have a huge corner lot, about a full acre, and a wooden fence around the entire perimeter.

That fence is about 15 years old and wow, it is so showing its age.

And, given that we have little in the way of free funds, that means that we’re fixing it ourselves. Tearing down the old rotting slats and cross beams. Pulling out the old posts, all of which are set in concrete. Entirely too much concrete. Putting in new posts, putting up new cross beams and slats. The whole shebang.

I have RSI (repetitive strain injuries) in my arms from a life-time spent doing excessive hand work before ergonomics became a thing. It’s chronic, something that I manage instead of ever curing.

And boy, oh boy, have I set my RSI off! Typing is no fun at the moment and sadly both my day job and my writing demand a lot of typing out of me.

Thus, there is no proper Worldbuilding Wednesday post. Like last week I’m going to give you questions to consider in your writing, all about the random linkages that could trigger interesting, unpredictable things in your stories, just like the fence has triggered a whole huge struggle with pain in my arms.

Look at your story and your characters. Pick a character, either your main character or a side character. Give them an invisible disability (RSI, deafness, allergies, gimpy knee, etc).

Now look at the action in your story. Throw in something that will set off that invisible disability, making it worse or less manageable. Make is so that your chosen character’s disability ceases to be invisible.

What does your main character do? What do the side characters do? Can the antagonist take advantage of that no-longer invisible disability? Have them do so!

Make sure to consider the emotional consequences as well as the physical ones. I can manage the pain pretty well when my RSI flares up but it makes me much more cranky and I get tired a lot faster. Your chosen character will have similar emotional issues, too, especially if they’ve successfully managed the disability to the point that it’s invisible until now. Nothing worse that everyone suddenly treating you different.

Anyway, I need to stop typing now so I’ll leave you with that.

(And yes, I’ll be fine. Give me a week or so and my arms will be back to normal.)

Good luck with your writing, life and everything else!

About meyari

I am a writer of erotica, science fiction and fantasy. I've been writing for years but have just sold my first erotica novel and am working on self-publishing my non-erotica. I love sewing, collecting dolls, reading, and a great many crafts that I no longer have time to do. I've been happily married to my husband for 20 years.
This entry was posted in MDR Publishing, Rambling, Self Publishing, Worldbuilding Wednesday, Writing Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

