About Free Ficton Fridays

Free Fiction Fridays are, as of right now, something that will happen now and then instead of (relatively) regularly.

You see, over the last year I’ve been working very hard to publish something every single week. Most weeks that was a short story. Sometimes, a handful, it was a novel. And ever five to six weeks or so it was a collection of short stories. That meant that more often than not I had a new short story that I could share. It usually went up the week after I put it up for sale, stayed up for one (maybe two) weeks and then I took it back down.

Simple.

But my goal this year, starting this week, is to write a novel in all of my universes. That’s seven to eight novels (as I have a 1/3 done mystery novel I want to finish and that’s a new verse) to write in the next 12 months.

That’s a lot of writing.

I know I can do it. Or, more accurately, I know I can get pretty close to it even if I don’t actually hit the goal by the 365th day.

But I can’t do it if I’m writing short stories every week. I have to choose.

I’m choosing novels this year.

That doesn’t mean that I won’t be writing short stories. I need breaks now and then from the novels so I will be writing some short stories. It just won’t be regular, predictable. When I do write a short story I’ll put it up as I have been, first for sale and then a week or so later for free here. That will continue. I just don’t see how I can make predictions on when it happens.

I may post free snippets of the novel of the moment instead; whichever one I’m working on. I may repost stories that I previously put up for free, prequels or side stories to whichever novel I’m finishing off at the moment. I do still want to have something here on Friday for everyone. I’m just not sure at this moment what it’ll be.

Next week will be a ‘nothing on Friday’ week, though. I’m going to be off at a con so I don’t think I’ll have the time for anything. Maybe photos? *shrug* Don’t know yet. I’ll figure it out.

And for those who are curious, for me a novel is a story that’s over 55,000 words. If it’s between about 35,000 and 55,000 I’d call it a long novella, personally. That’s my personal definition for this challenge. Write seven (or eight if I can) novels over 55,000 words in the next year, with one for each of my universes. Plus whatever short stories I manage to squeeze in. And blog posts. And Worldbuilding Wednesday. Which has it’s own novel that I’ll need to finish.

*laughs ruefully*

Gonna be a busy writing year. Just wanted everyone to know what’s coming up.

*goes back to writing*

About meyari

I am a writer of erotica, science fiction and fantasy. I've been writing for years but have just sold my first erotica novel and am working on self-publishing my non-erotica. I love sewing, collecting dolls, reading, and a great many crafts that I no longer have time to do. I've been happily married to my husband for 20 years.
This entry was posted in Free Fiction Friday, Rambling, Self Publishing, Writing Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

