Free Fiction Friday: Stormy Arrival

POD Stormy Arrival Ebook Cover 03
Description:
Anwyn wanted to celebrate finally getting crutches. Weeks spent cooped up in bed was far too long. But her private celebration of independence arrived at the same time as a crisis for her family. The Tourmaline Dreams, one of her family’s ships, was overdue and coming in during an unseasonal storm.

The Tourmaline’s dramatic arrival revealed secrets that Anwyn hadn’t suspected and opened her eyes to truths that she couldn’t have known. Stormy Arrival is a sweet childhood story exploring just what family and acceptance really means, set in the matriarchal world of Muirin.

Stormy Arrival

By Meyari McFarland

1. Freedom

“So?”

Anwyn strained her ears to hear what Doctor Bernice said but she and Father were talking too quietly for her to make it out. All she could hear was the murmur of their voices. The wailing wind under the eaves didn’t help. Neither did the rain pounding down on the rooftop. There was no way for her to hear what Doctor Bernice said with the storm raging outside.

“Not fair,” Anwyn pouted.

She glared around her bunk. The hanging strings of crystals that served as a curtain no longer pleased her. After so long stuck in bed Anwyn just wanted to tear them down and put something else up in their place. Early on, right after Siobhan had broken her ribs and ankle, Anwyn had found their twinkle comforting. They sent rainbows over the walls and ceiling of her bunk.

By now the sparkle and color just annoyed her. She’d wanted to paint star charts on the ceiling of her bunk but Father hadn’t let her. He wouldn’t let her do anything. Every time Anwyn had tried to find something to keep from being bored out of her mind, Father had stopped her. Even the books he approved of were too heavy for her to hold.

“Thank you so much,” Father said loudly enough that Anwyn could hear his sigh of relief.

“What?” Anwyn shouted. “What’d she say? Can I get up yet? What?”

“Annie!” Father snapped. His head appeared at the doorway as he leaned in to look at her scoldingly. “Be quiet.”

“But can I get up yet?” Anwyn complained, her voice echoing in the little kid’s bedroom. “Come on, I’ve been stuck in bed forever!”

Find the rest of this Book:

On Amazon ebook for $3.99
On Smashwords ebook for $3.99
On CreateSpace 5″ x 8″ TPB for $9.99

I love writing. I love sharing my writing. I hope that you love reading what I share. If you enjoyed the story but can’t afford to buy it please consider leaving a donation (the button will say MDR Publishing which is my naescent publishing company). It will help me keep writing and sharing my stories with you for a long time to come. Thank you!

About meyari

I am a writer of erotica, science fiction and fantasy. I've been writing for years but have just sold my first erotica novel and am working on self-publishing my non-erotica. I love sewing, collecting dolls, reading, and a great many crafts that I no longer have time to do. I've been happily married to my husband for 20 years.
This entry was posted in Free Fiction Friday, Matriarchies of Muirin, Self Publishing, Writing Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

